There Is No Suffering 15

The Way of the Bodhisattva

Avalokitesvara Bodhisattva,
while coursing in deep prajnaparamita,
perceived that the five skandhas are empty,
and transcended all suffering.

These opening lines of the Heart Sutra are laden with meaning; they introduce terms—bodhisattva, prajnaparamita,8 skandhas,9 and suffering—that need discussion in detail. I will begin by discussing the attitude, the practice, the methods, and lastly, the special quality of a bodhisattva.